TPCBA – Issues Ratings For Judicial Candidates



TACOMA (October 4, 2016) – The Judicial Qualifications Committee (JQC) of the Tacoma-Pierce County Bar Association (TPCBA) has completed its ratings for judicial candidates seeking election to the positions of Pierce County Superior Court.

During 2016, the Judicial Qualifications Committee interviewed four candidates for Superior Court and has issued the ratings set forth below. Candidates who did not request an interview were not rated. Some candidates were rated in 2014 and those ratings are still valid.

The TPCBA rates judicial candidates as a service to voters. A description of the factors that the committee considers in assigning a rating are attached.

The JQC is an independent standing committee of the TPCBA. Since 2014, the committee has been composed of between 20 and 26 practicing attorneys. This year, the TPCBA president also appointed a non-attorney to sit on the JQC. At least 12 JQC members must be present to have a quorum at the candidate interview.

The JQC does not compare opposing candidates in a particular contested race, but rather evaluates each candidate on her or his own individual merit. The names of the candidates for each Superior Court Department, their ratings and the year of the rating, if any, are listed below:

ï‚· Pierce County Superior Court, Department 2:

Timothy Ashcraft: Well Qualified (2016)
Katherine M. Stolz: Not interviewed, no JQC rating

ï‚· Pierce County Superior Court, Department 5:

Dominique Jinhong: Well Qualified (2016), Qualified (2014)
Shelly Speir: Well Qualified (2016)

ï‚· Pierce County Superior Court, Department 8:

Grant Blinn: Exceptionally Well Qualified (2016)
Dwayne Christopher: Not Interviewed, no JQC rating

ï‚· Pierce County Superior Court, Department 17:

Karena Kirkendoll: Exceptionally Well Qualified (2014)
Thomas Quinlan: Exceptionally Well Qualified (2014)

Media Contact:
Kit Kasner, Director, Tacoma-Pierce County Bar Association 253 272-8871

TPCBA Press Release Judicial Candidates Ratings PDF

Official ratings criteria